Home   Curriculum


Curriculum for the Foundation Stage 
The Foundation Stage is organised into areas of learning.

Prime areas
The Prime Areas are particularly important for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning

    1.    Personal, Social and Emotional Development

As children develop a positive sense of themselves and respect others; they develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings and understand appropriate behaviour in groups.

2.    Communication and Language Development

Giving children the opportunity to speak and listen in a range of situations and to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves.

    3.    Physical Development

Children will have the opportunity to be active and interactive, to develop co-ordination, control and movement; they will be helped to understand the importance of physical activity and healthy choices in food.

    Specific areas
    Providers support children in four specific areas, which are supported by the Prime Areas. These include the essential skills and knowledge said to be required for children to participate successfully in society.

    4. Literacy

      The children will be encouraged to read and write by listening to others reading and being encouraged to begin to read and write themselves, and being given access to a wide range of reading materials.

    5. Mathematics

      Children will be provided with opportunities to practise their skills in counting numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems and describing shapes, spaces and measures.

    6. Understanding of the World

      Children will be guided to make sense of their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore and observe people, places, technology and the environment.

    7. Expressive Arts and Design

      Children will be supported to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as providing opportunities for sharing their thoughts and feelings through a variety of activivites in art, music, movement, dance, role play and design technology.